What’s New in 2020
Organ Donor Leave Expanded Effective January 1, 2020
California lawrequires employers with 15 or more on payroll to provide paid organ donor leave to any employee undergoing such procedures.
California law requires employers with 15 or more on payroll to provide paid organ donor leave to any employee undergoing such procedures.
Beginning January 1, 2020, employers must also provide additional unpaid time off up to a total of 30 business days for organ donor leave.
Thus, any employee undergoing an organ donation procedure may take up to 30 business days of protected paid leave in a one-year period (for which the employer may first credit up to two weeks of an employee’s accrued, unused sick or vacation/paid time off benefits), after which the employee may then receive an additional 30 days of protected unpaid leave.
Best practices include a well-written, up-to-date leave policy. Current policies, procedures and forms covering all major aspects of the workplace relationship permit managers and rank-and-file workers alike to know where they stand.
See also:
For further assistance in complying with the new laws, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Cindy Bamforth
March 3, 2020

No Time Like the Present
Order Our 2019 Updated Model Employee Handbook and Hire-To-Fire Forms
An outdated workplace policy manual can cause its own set of problems. In employment law, the only thing constant is change.
An outdated workplace policy manual can cause its own set of problems. In employment law, the only thing constant is change.
Our 2019 model employment handbook and forms contain significant revisions to keep pace with new laws and recent case decisions, many motivated by the #metoo movement.
Our model forms and policies include:
Our comprehensive model employee handbook includes:
CONTACT US TO ORDER NOW
To order or for more information, contact client services director Loretta Gardea at 626.583.6600 or email her at clientservices@tbowleslaw.com
Law Offices of Timothy Bowles
December 27, 2019
What’s New in 2020 California Minimum Wage Rates
On January 1, 2020, California minimum wage will increase to $12.00 for small employers with 25 or fewer employees and to $13.00 per hour for larger employers with 26 or more employees.
On January 1, 2020, California minimum wage will increase to $12.00 for small employers with 25 or fewer employees and to $13.00 per hour for larger employers with 26 or more employees. These rates continue to increase annually until they reach $15.00 per hour in 2022 for larger employers and in 2023 for those with 25 employees or less. See California’s Gradual Increases in Minimum Wage, to Reach $15.00 Per Hour by January 1, 2022 (April, 2016).
Some California cities plus two counties have their own minimum wage ordinances. In-state employers need to examine the rules for every jurisdiction in which they operate, not just the one or more where they might have offices. The UC Berkeley Center for Labor Research and Education publishes regular updates.
| City or County | Minimum Wage Rate |
| Alameda (effective from July 1, 2020) | $15.00 (currently $13.50) |
| Belmont | $15.00 |
| Berkeley (indexed to inflation on July 1, 2020) | $15.59 (currently) |
| Cupertino | $15.35 |
| Daly City | $13.75 |
| El Cerrito | $15.37 |
| Emeryville (effective from July 1, 2020) | $16.42 estimated (currently $16.30) |
| Fremont (effective from July 1, 2020) | $13.50 (currently $11.00) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (currently $13.50) (26+ employees) | |
| Los Altos | $15.40 |
| Los Angeles City (effective from July 1, 2020) | $14.25 (currently $13.25) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (currently $14.25) (26+ employees) | |
| Los Angeles County (Unincorporated Areas) (effective from July 1, 2020) | $14.25 (currently $13.25) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (currently $14.25) (26+ employees) | |
| Malibu (effective from July 1, 2020) | $14.25 (currently $13.25) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (currently $14.25) (26+ employees) | |
| Menlo Park | $15.00 |
| Milpitas (indexed to inflation on July 1, 2020) | $15.00 (currently) |
| Mountain View | $16.05 |
| Novato | $12.00 ($13.00 on July 1, 2020) (25 or fewer employees) |
| $13.00 ($14.00 on July 1, 2020) (26+ employees) | |
| $13.00 ($15.00 on July 1, 2020) (100+ employees | |
| Oakland | $14.14 |
| Palo Alto | $15.40 |
| Pasadena (effective from July 1, 2020) | $14.25/currently $13.25 (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00/currently $14.25 (26+ employees) | |
| Petaluma | $14.00 (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (26+ employees) | |
| Redwood City | $15.38 |
| Richmond | $15.00 |
| San Diego | $13.00 |
| San Francisco City and County (indexed to inflation on July 1, 2020) | $15.59 (currently) |
| San Jose | $15.25 |
| San Leandro (effective from July 1, 2020) | $15.00 (currently $14.00) |
| San Mateo | $15.38 |
| Santa Clara | $15.40 |
| Santa Monica (effective from July 1, 2020) | $14.25 (currently $13.25) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $15.00 (currently $14.25) (26 employees or more) | |
| Santa Rosa | $12.00 ($14 00 on July 1, 2020) (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $13.00 ($15.00 on July 1, 2020) (26+ employees) | |
| City of Sonoma | $12.50 (25 or fewer employees) and |
| $13.50 (26+ employees) | |
| South San Francisco | $15.00 |
| Sunnyvale | $16.05 |
A covered employer must also conspicuously post an updated wage notice/bulletin for each applicable jurisdiction. Click the above city/county link(s) to download the most current notice.
See also:
For more information, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Helena Kobrin
December 12, 2019
What’s New in 2020 Physicians & Surgeons New 2020 Overtime Exemption Rates
California Labor Code section 515.6 exempts certain licensed physicians and surgeons from overtime compensation if they receive set minimum hourly compensation.
California Labor Code section 515.6 exempts certain licensed physicians and surgeons from overtime compensation if they receive set minimum hourly compensation. Effective January 1, 2020, the California Department of Industrial Relations is increasing the minimum from $82.72 to $84.79 per hour, effective January 1, 2020.
To avoid California’s requirements to pay overtime premium rates after eight hours worked in a day or 40 in a week, employers will need to pay eligible physicians or surgeons that minimum hourly rate, keeping accurate track of hours worked.
Under Labor Code section 515.6, a doctor is exempt-from-overtime only if he or she is a licensed physician or surgeon “primarily engaged” (more than 50% of the time) in duties that require that licensure. California Business & Professions Code section 2052 specifies such duties, requiring a medical license for anyone who “diagnoses, treats, operates for, or prescribes for any ailment, blemish, deformity, disease, disfigurement, disorder, injury, or other physical or mental condition of any person.”
Employers relying on this exemption will of course need to implement this rate change by the January 1 deadline.
Physicians and surgeons paid on a lump sum salary (whether weekly or otherwise) will not qualify for this exemption but may otherwise be excused under the administrative, executive, or professional overtime exemptions.
For more information, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Cindy Bamforth
December 5, 2019
What’s New in 2020 That’s Final, Tentatively
Barring Successful Court Challenge, Federal Overtime Exemption Will Require Higher Salaries January 1, 2020
In 2016, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) issued a “Final Rule” more than doubling the minimum salary amounts for certain workers - administrative , executive , and professional, employees , as well as “ highly compensated employees ”...
In 2016, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) issued a “Final Rule” more than doubling the minimum salary amounts for certain workers - administrative, executive, and professional, employees, as well as “highly compensated employees” (HCE) to qualify for overtime exemption under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
That rule proved not to be final after all. A judge enjoined its enforcement. The challenge to that 2016 version remained on appeal but inactive until the Trump DOL recently rescinded and replaced it with a new Final Rule, effective January 1, 2020.
This federal regulation directs certain increases in the minimum compensation amounts for exempt workers but does not change the principal job duties required to qualify. See DOL Fact Sheet #17A.
For instance, the new regulation raises the minimum qualifying salary amount for overtime exempt professional, executive, and administrative employees from $455/week; $1,971.67/month; $23,660/year to $684/week; $2,964/month; $35,568/year.
Eligibility for the FLSA’s HCE exemption will require a minimum $107,432/year salary, up from the current $100,000.
For exempt motion picture industry workers, the DOL is raising the qualifying “base rate” for a full week to $1,043/week, or a proportionate amount of that minimum equal to one sixth of the base rate for each day worked in a shorter week.
The new regulation also permits employers to count ten percent of an exempt employee’s non-discretionary bonuses and other incentive compensation payments in the calculation of the applicable minimum salary amount.
No Immediate Effect on California’s Exempt-from-Overtime Criteria: This state’s salary minimums for “white collar” professional, executive, and administrative exempt employees already exceed these incoming federal standards. California’s salary threshold is the double the statewide hourly minimum wage for a 40-hour week. Thus, for 2020, with that minimum wage going to $13/hour for companies with 26 or more employees and $12.00/hour for businesses with 25 or fewer employees, minimum salaries to qualify for overtime exemptions will be $1,040/week; $4,506.67/month; $54,080/year for the 26-plus employers and $960/week; $4,160/month; $49,920/year for businesses with smaller payrolls.
California employers with exempt out-of-state employees will need to consider whether the new Final Rule affects what they are paying those employees.
See also:
If you need assistance with working any of the issues raised by these new regulations, our attorneys, Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin, can help.
Helena Kobrin
November 27, 2019

Thank a Farmer
Harvest Festivals Not an American Innovation
With all due respect to the many who regard America’s Thanksgiving as the biggest holiday of the year, there are currently some 7.35 billion people on this planet for whom this coming Thursday will be just another day.
With all due respect to the many who regard America’s Thanksgiving as the biggest holiday of the year, there are currently some 7.35 billion people on this planet for whom this coming Thursday will be just another day. Alternatively, for example, please note:
Whatever your custom or preference, happy Thanksgiving!
American lawyer, somewhere in the Ashanti Region, Ghana, 2007
November 27, 2019
Bullet Dodging Part 6
Real Estate Agent Exemptions From Stringent Limits on Independent Contractor Status
New Labor Code 2750.3(d) , effective January 1, 2020 as part of Assembly Bill (AB) 5, exempts real estate licensees, regulated under the Business & Professions Code (B&P), from the strict Dynamex ABC test for independent contractor...
New Labor Code 2750.3(d), effective January 1, 2020 as part of Assembly Bill (AB) 5, exempts real estate licensees, regulated under the Business & Professions Code (B&P), from the strict Dynamex ABC test for independent contractor classification. See, Dodging the Bullet (October 2019).
Labor Code 2750.3(d) defers to B&P 10032(b), which permits real estate brokers and agents to structure their relationships either as employer-employee, respectively, or as hirer-independent contractor. However, that provision of 10032(b) notably does not apply where broker and agent have no written contract between them. For such “non-10032(b)” real estate broker-agent associations:
Moral: As the complexity and uncertainty of California’s employee/independent contractor law increase, so too the wisdom of utilizing competent legal counsel to help navigate the rocks and shoals of such classifications.
See also:
For further information, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Helena Kobrin
November 22, 2019
What’s New in 2020 the Road to Infant Immortality
Expanded State Approval Powers Over “Baby” Entertainers
California has long regulated the “employment” of infants in the movies. Labor Code 1308.8 bans babies under 15-days old while requiring physician certification for our “older” new arrivals (aged 15-days to “under one month”) to work on...
California has long regulated the “employment” of infants in the movies. Labor Code 1308.8 bans babies under 15-days old while requiring physician certification for our “older” new arrivals (aged 15-days to “under one month”) to work on any “motion picture set or location.”
Beginning January, 2020, Assembly Bill (AB) 267 will apply such “micro-age” prohibition and certification standards to the entire “entertainment industry,” now defined (new Labor Code 1286(f)) in this digital age as:
This broader “entertainment industry” scope understandably applies to the labor regulation of all minors under age 18. Yet, read literally, the expanded definition means that no precocious newborns two-weeks old or younger may bull ride (rodeo) or swallow swords (circus), period. Other babies not yet a month-old could in theory do so, but would require written certification from “a licensed physician or surgeon who is board-certified in either pediatrics or family medicine.”
Perhaps slightly more to the point is the uncertainty of just how far this Labor Code ban and written certification requirement applies to newborns engaged in “photography…modeling…and any other performances where a minor performs to entertain the public.” Would that not be every such baby picture and video posted on Facebook, Instagram and any other social media medium?
For further information, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Tim Bowles
November 15, 2019
Bullet Dodging Part 5
The Referral Agency Exception to California’s Strict Independent Contractor Definition
When new Labor Code section 2750.3(g) goes into effect on January 1, 2020 as part of Assembly Bill (AB) 5, certain types of referral agencies may be able to avoid classifying associated service providers as employees under the uber-strict...
When new Labor Code section 2750.3(g) goes into effect on January 1, 2020 as part of Assembly Bill (AB) 5, certain types of referral agencies may be able to avoid classifying associated service providers as employees under the uber-strict Dynamex ABC standards. See, California’s Independent Contractors (October 2019).
Only referral agencies that deal in specified industries are eligible: those connecting clients or customers with service providers dealing in graphic and/or web design, photography, tutoring, event planning, minor home repair, furniture assembly, picture hanging, moving, errands, home cleaning, animal services, dog walking or grooming, pool cleaning or yard cleanup.
Such associated service providers must be either a sole proprietorship, corporation, partnership, limited liability company or limited liability partnership.
Additionally – and keeping with the previously prevailing “Borello” multi-factor balancing test for contractor vs. employee classification -- the service provider must:
See also:
For further information, please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Cindy Bamforth
November 8, 2019